top of page

I'm 33 and making it happen!

Every time I step away from writing - whether it's because of writers block or time - I come back and am shocked at how fast time goes by and how much of it has gone since I last posted. Which, I guess, makes this post pretty fitting.

I just turned 33 (I know, I can't believe it either. I look like I'm 21 #wrinklefree) and to be honest it's the best I have ever felt in a long time. But feeling this way came after being extremely hard on myself and possibly being at the lowest point in my life for a good chunk of 2018 and 2019.

It was the worst I had ever treated myself. I stopped taking care of myself and let the negative self talk take over absolutely every breathe, movement, blink; everything I did or said was met with me telling myself I wasn't good enough, I didn't deserve happiness, and I was going to fail. It's no secret I have struggled with my own insecurities but I had never felt so disgusted about myself as I did during this time.

The worst part is that I suffered in silence.

I probably shared about 2% of how I really felt with my close friends and family but the truth is I spent many many many nights crying to myself asking God or the Universe why was I not worthy of anything good. I was not proud of who I was, I considered myself a failure, and attributed my bad luck in love to my weight, the money I had (or didn't have), to the fact that I didn't own a home or hadn't traveled to 25 countries in a year … you name it. I was basically a loser in my head.

But it wasn't until I removed my IUD earlier this year (after 2.5 years) that my mood and energy started to change. I removed it in late July or early August and I can honestly say, I have never felt better.

In my heart I knew something was wrong, I even blamed the IUD for it a couple of times, but I was ashamed to recognize that my body wasn't strong enough to handle an IUD so what did I do? I "stuck it out". I thought I'd get over it but I never did and "stuck it out" for way too long.

To make matters worst, I did speak to my doctor about it and this is what he said: "Your body will adjust. Give it time. You'll be ok" this was 1.5 years after I had gotten it.

The IUD wasn't to blame entirely but the reality was it had a major effect on my well-being and reversed a lot of the work I had already done in years past. Birth control isn't for everyone and that's ok. I'm clearly not a candidate and I've learned to accept it.

The reason why I share this is for a few reasons:

  • We need to listen to our bodies

  • We need to go to the right doctors; a doctor who will LISTEN

  • We have to stop beating ourselves up and advocate for ourselves

  • We need to realize we have control over our bodies and our mind. There are so many resources at our reach. Let's use them (had I been more informed I would've NEVER gotten an IUD)

  • Life is too short to not pay attention when things seem off

  • Time goes by too fast, let's not waste it suffering

Which brings me to the real reason why I am writing this post.

As I have started coming into my own, I have decided that the only way I want to start this next chapter of my life is by walking into 33 full of gratitude and following my heart while never losing sight of the most important thing: myself.

With that said, I am happy to announce that in March 2020 I will be launching my Podcast.

It will be a podcast inspired by my blog but focused on having conversations with others in order to gain different perspectives and share lessons & stories while being a voice for a generation dealing with dating and the frustrations that come along with it. It'll be fun, informative and (I hope), relatable.

In the meantime, I won't be writing as much but I promise about 3-5 more blog posts before launch date. I am focusing a lot of my energy and time in making this dream a reality and even if I fail, I want to be proud of myself for trying and giving it my all.

Life is a crazy ride and I am so excited to see where it takes me. I hope you come along with me too.

bottom of page