top of page

Mr. 30 Minutes

Aaaaand I’m back after some much needed time off. Sometimes you need to stop and reset in order to be your best self (and write bomb ass stories!).

So, if you’ve been reading my posts for a while you’ll remember the one where I shared some first date do’s and don’ts - if you haven’t, stop right now, go back and catch up! - well, that post was inspired by this fella.

This guy and I had matched on Hinge a loooooong time ago and we added each other on IG (Instagram for those of you who live under a rock). Around that time he had a trip to Iceland (love me a traveler!) and then I had a trip to FL and Colombia so we made plans to meet after my return.

Truth is, I never followed up, neither did he, and we didn't talk or see each-other for a while. Until ...

He slid into my DM's 4 months later. As we millennials do.

We chatted, caught up and made plans to meet for dinner on Sunday. This was on a Friday. He set the time & place: 5:30 pm at Velvet Taco (for those of you not in Dallas, this place has some realllly good margs and tacos and is a chill spot to hang).

Sunday rolls around and he sends me a text at 12:00 ish confirming our date. He mentioned he was hanging by the pool with his friends and would meet me at 5:00 as planned.

I head out at 4:45 and arrive right on time. He's there waiting outside.

We say hello to eachother and walk in. While in line and before we order the guy starts fucking YAWNING. Like for real YAAWWWWWNNNIIINNG, like the kind of yawn that will make you yawn right now just by reading this. I straight up ask him "are you ok?" his response: "I'm sorry, I'm a little tired. I drank all day by the pool and to be honest I might be a little drunk right now but I need some food so I didn't want to bail on you".

Oh wow! THANKS DUDE!

But I still stuck around. I was hungry and a girl needed to eat!

We ordered, started eating, and literally 30 min in he goes: "I can't do this. I am really drunk and need to go home. I'm so sorry, I'll make it up to you next time" I said: "Next time? Haha. No, I don't think there will be a next time. But good try!"

Needless to say, I left and blocked his drunk ass on IG.

Can't make this shit up!

bottom of page